Insomnia’s Silver Lining

Lately, I have insomnia. It is so annoying. I want to sleep!

When I can’t sleep, I try yoga, chi kung, meditation, acupressure, drinking tea.

No luck.

Then I write. Poetry and stream of consciousness prose poems. When I wrote in the middle of the night last night, there was something so freeing about the way I was writing. I was not thinking about word choice, grammar, plot. I was not thinking about publication. I wrote for the sheer joy. And though I have written for the sheer joy on other occasions, my joy last night felt pure, like I was six years old again and writing because I loved to write and write.

Before last night, I had been feeling wary of going to bed because sometimes, I lie awake for hours. But now that pure joy awaits me, I’m looking forward to the writing I’ll do and the fun that I’ll have. So much fun that I’ll soon be able to sleep.

Leave a comment